The Quick, The Weird, and The Thorough: How I Mark Student Work

Some great ideas on marking from Laura McInerney

Laura McInerney

Bit late on this month’s blogsync but better than never, right?…

Topic (last) month was: Marking With Impact. Having taught several subjects across KS3 – 5, my marking techniques have varied. Here are just three which I think had impact even if they’re not faultless.

The Quick

In my first year I taught 580 students per week. I taught each class of 30 once per week, and face an SLT-imposed minimum half-term marking policy. If I did what was expected, I would have needed to mark 96 books per week. Except, I had to wait for students to fill up their books first which meant that by half-term I had 580 books to mark. In a week.

Hence my TeachFirst tutor recommended the following for the sake of my sanity:

Speed Tip #1 – Draw this, or even better, get kids to draw it in advance ….

20131103_101443

Smiley Face…

View original post 982 more words

Leave a Reply

